Enough Room In Paradise ( A Poem )

She asked me if I believed In God

and I shook my head with a nod.

“What does God say,

is there room for everyone in paradise?”

 

and I had to think about this

 

because realistically

there should be?

But would there be

enough room in Paradise

for the sinner

with his palms balled into a fist

for the girl

with the mini skirt

and multi coloured hair?

 

would there be enough room

in paradise

for the broken and the lost child

Young woman with a stain on her back

pocket

and a gaping hole in her chest

so large you could stick your fingers

in it?

 

Would there be enough room for her?

 

She asked me if there was

enough room in God’s kingdom?

 

And I thought about the children

the one’s forgotten

and hidden away from weary eyes

The one’s who cry in dark corridors

and hide under pillow forts

The children forgotten

and abandoned by love

The ones whose body sank deep into the soil

 

would there be enough room for them?

She asked me if I thought

there would be enough room in paradise?

and I thought about the leaves

the ones that burn to an ember

under a sheave of smoke

I thought about the women

who toss and turn

lonely under sheets

 

I thought about the broken hearts

and the tears running down my cheeks

I thought about the wounded souls

and the spirits dying to be free

I thought about the fractured hearts

and the holes so dark and deep

I thought about the bible pages

and the secrets buried beneath the sea

 

and then I had to wonder

Would there be enough room for me?

 

~Melodic Rose~

 

 

Leave a Reply

