Mississippi Damn ( A Poem for Nina Simone)

Someone told Mississippi to go
and damn itself
said Mississippi
God Damn you.

God Damn Mississippi
do you miss me
are you sipping on me
or my restless fate

were you peaking in through
Harlem’s gate.
where did your panthers go
your black tar infested
street savoir faire.

could I savour you?

But Goddamn Mississippi
with your torrential rain
of bullets
reigning for 100 years
over black martyrs
and black boys
and little black girls

Was it 1866
or 1966
or 2016
or just the unholy
666
that still caused you
to string up every
tar faced baby
against a lamp post
yes I believe it was

and when Nina wrote about you
sang you out in the hot inferno
of your burning buildings
who could contain you.

So goddamn you Alabama
Charleston
You Gone with the wind
sort of son of a gun
you white bed sheet patron
your jacko lantern Street burning havoc
you ruthless piece of Tom foolery
you TWISTED hand of fate
you trumping trumpet
piece of carbon monoxide
methodical match

Goodbye
Mississippi blues
I shan’t miss you tonight.

~Melodic Rose~

3 thoughts on “Mississippi Damn ( A Poem for Nina Simone)

    1. Hi Tiffany! Thank you so much 🙂 I’m not sure how I missed this comment but I definitly appreciate the feedback.I used to do alot of spoken word but it’s been a very long time. I’m beginning to feel as if I should get back into it. I will definitly take a look at this poetry lounge. Thanks again 🙂

      1. You are very welcome!! Hey I wanted to invite you to My TRUTH series, where I become transparent to my followers and they get to know the woman behind the writing. This is all done on my blog.

Leave a Reply

