Miles to go ( A Poem)

If you ever walk a mile in my shoes

Then I hope you’ll stop off

At the old museum.

Peer into the shop windows

Where the cobwebs have laced the frosted glass.

 

I hope you’ll sit in all the old cafe

And eat a pile of my memories

From out of the cake pan.

 

If you ever walk a mile in my shoes

I hope they’ll fit you well.

Leaving no trace of the blisters

That have carefully aligned my feet

 

I hope you’ll run towards to the sunlight

When you get the edge of the forest

Where the trees have dipped

Their ink quills in the bottomless pit

With your name.

 

If you ever walk a mile in my shoes

I hope you’ll find my smile

Curved at the edges of the road.

Leading up to the house on redemption street

And sit awhile under the shade of every tree

That has ever belonged to the life I’ve lived.

 

I hope you’ll get the chance to hold

The hands of every single friend I’ve ever had

Or experience the majesty of butterfly wings

Bursting out of a gray ornate tomb.

 

I hope you’ll find a pair of eagle’s wings

And then stretch them as far they can go.

Allowing them to lift you up the sky

And beyond.

 

I hope you’ll breathe in memories

And desire like the sweet savour of tomorrow

An aroma as delicate and precious as time itself.

If you ever walk a mile in my shoes

Please return them when you’re through.

 

~Melodic Rose~

Leave a Reply

